PICTURE: Is this proof Costa didn't deserve a yellow card for diving?

Diego Costa attempting an overhead volley

Diego Costa was booked for simulation last night but did the referee make the right call?

Diego Costa can be very happy this morning with his Premier League debut for Chelsea.

The Spanish international scored his first league goal for the club with an emphatic finish but his performance looked at one point as though it could have been surrounded by controversy.

Costa was booked for simulation after he went down following a challenge from Burnley goalkeeper Tom Heaton, as the home crowd instantly accused him of diving.

Jose Mourinho branded the decision unfair after the game as Costa’s right foot clearly made contact with the goalkeeper’s left hand as he tried to prevent the striker from slipping round him and passing the ball into an empty net.

SEE ALSO: On this day: Arsenal fans furious with Gazidis, Abramovich's message to supporters

“The kid was obviously frustrated to be booked and I hope he doesn’t get any more unfair decisions,” said Mourinho.

Five yellow cards and Costa will serve a one game suspension. We’ve included a picture above, which appears to show the contact between the striker and Heaton and it’s over to you to draw your own conclusions.

Do you think Costa dived or was it a penalty?

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch